Four Eureka Teachers receive Excellence in Teaching Awards

The Humboldt County Office of Education recognized four Eureka City Schools teachers with Excellence in Teaching Awards. Ten teachers from Humboldt County were recognized with the award at May 15th at the Adorni Center ceremony. The teachers were nominated by students, peers or parents and then were required to submit addition letters of support or essays to qualify for the award. The recipients are:

  • Jamie Bush, Social Studies and E.A.S.T., Zane Middle School
  • Janet Lopez, Eighth Grade Language Arts/Socials Studies Block and English Language Development Teacher, Zane Middle School
  • Bruce McCay, Sixth, seventh and eight Music Teacher, Zane Middle School
  • Lorraine Smith, Kindergarden through fifth grade special day class teacher, Alice Birney Elementary